Spectacular opening at the Mercedes-Benz Kitesurf World Cup Fehmarn

Spectacular opening at the Mercedes-Benz Kitesurf World Cup Fehmarn

Great start at the Mercedes-Benz Kitesurf World Cup on Fehmarn: The first day started with the best wind conditions so that the best athletes showed their skills on the Baltic Sea in Strapless Freestyle. With high jumps and artistic moves, the participants thrilled thousands of spectators on the South Beach and offered a thrilling show to the semi-finals. On Sunday, the final runs of the four qualified strapless freestylers Matchu Lopes (Cape Verde), Julien Kerneur (France), Paulino Pereira (Portugal) and Airton Cozzolino (Italy) are expected for the World Cup victory.

Felix Paul Schulz from the Perleberg as the only German participant faced international competition. “It was a great experience to compete with professionals from all over the world. Unfortunately, it was not quite enough for me. But I will continue to train and be back in the coming year”, said the 19-year-old junior athlete after his retirement in the first round.

The sporting action will be followed by another highlight in the evening: when the nations invade, 68 participants from 19 countries will be greeted with a grand parade at the Mercedes-Benz Kitesurf World Cup. The German team consists of 24 assets.

19.08. – Spektakulärer Auftakt der Mercedes-Benz Kitesurf World Cup auf Fehmarn

19.08. – Spektakulärer Auftakt der Mercedes-Benz Kitesurf World Cup auf Fehmarn

Toller Auftakt beim Mercedes-Benz Kitesurf World Cup auf Fehmarn: Bei guten Windbedingungen zeigten die Athleten im Strapless Freestyle ihr Können auf der Ostsee. Mit hohen Sprüngen und artistischen Moves begeisterten die Teilnehmer tausende Zuschauer am Südstrand und boten eine packende Show bis zum Halbfinale. Am Sonntag werden die finalen Läufe der vier qualifizierten Strapless Freestyler Matchu Lopes (Kapverden), Julien Kerneur (Frankreich), Paulino Pereira (Portugal) und Airton Cozzolino (Italien) um den World-Cup-Sieg erwartet.

Als einziger deutscher Teilnehmer stellte sich Felix Paul Schulz aus dem brandenburgischen Perleberg der internationalen Konkurrenz. „Es war ein tolles Erlebnis, sich mit den Profis aus aller Welt zu messen. Leider hat es nicht ganz für mich gereicht. Doch ich werde weiter trainieren und im kommenden Jahr wieder dabei sein“, sagte der 19-jährige Nachwuchs-Sportler nach seinem Ausscheiden in der ersten Runde.
Auf die sportliche Action folgt am Abend ein weiteres Highlight: Beim Einmarsch der Nationen werden 68 Teilnehmer aus 19 Ländern mit einer großen Parade feierlich beim Mercedes-Benz Kitesurf World Cup begrüßt. Das deutsche Team besteht aus 24 Aktiven.