21.08. – Big Air Show at the Mercedes-Benz Kitesurf World Cup

21.08. – Big Air Show at the Mercedes-Benz Kitesurf World Cup

After an impressive final yesterday, it was no less spectacular today: The best strapless freestyler in the world moved 30 meters from the south beach to the Burger Binnensee and dueled in a big air session. True to the old adage “higher, faster, further” – the athletes regularly surpassed in their moves, before finally Airton Cozzolino stood out as the master of the skies of all others. After the lost final in Strapless Freestyle a nice triumph for the current number 1 in the world. Second was Keahi de Aboitiz before Gustavo Arrojo.

After the highest, the fastest kitesurfers in the world went to their factory and delivered thrilling competitions in Foil. The competitors flew over the water at speeds of up to 70 km/h at barely six wind speeds.

At the only stop of the HydroFoil Pro Tour in Germany (not an official discipline of the Mercedes-Benz Kitesurf World Cup), races four to six were on the program. As the best German Florian Gruber finished the last race in fourth place in the overall ranking nevertheless, the Garmisch-Partenkirchener remains within striking distance of the leading duo Nico Parlier and Axel Mazzella from France.

“It was incredible conditions, without the seagrass caught in the foil and slowing us down, we would have been even faster. The level in the starting field is incredibly high, every mistake is punished immediately. I feel good and still lie promising in the competition. We have six races left until the final on Wednesday, so a lot can happen”, said the 23-year-old German guy.

Seven races can be completed until Wednesday and we are curious if the 23-year-old German can prevail against the French again.

21.08. – Big Air Show beim Mercedes-Benz Kitesurf World Cup

21.08. – Big Air Show beim Mercedes-Benz Kitesurf World Cup

Nach einem furiosen und eindrucksvollen Finale am gestrigen Tage, ging es heute nicht weniger spektakulär zu. Mit Kite und Board zogen die besten Strapless Freestyler der Welt vom Südstrand 30 Meter weiter an den Burger Binnensee und duellierten sich in einer Big Air Session. Getreu dem Motto höher, schneller, weiter übertrafen sich die Athleten regelmäßig in ihren Moves, bevor sich schließlich Airton Cozzolino als Meister der Lüfte von allen anderen abhob.

Nach dem verlorenen Finale im Strapless Freestyle ein schöner Triumph für die aktuelle Nummer 1 der Welt. Zweiter wurde Keahi de Aboitiz vor Gustavo Arrojo.

Nach den höchsten, gingen die schnellsten Kitesurfer der Welt an ihr Werk und lieferten sich spannende Wettkämpfe im Foil. Bei knapp sechs Windstärken flogen die Kitesurfer mit einer Geschwindigkeit von bis zu 70 km/h über das Wasser.

Beim einzigen Stopp der HydroFoil Pro Tour in Deutschland (keine offizielle Disziplin des Mercedes-Benz Kitesurf World Cup) standen die Wettfahrten vier bis sechs auf dem Programm. Als bester Deutschen beendete Florian Gruber das letzte Rennen auf dem vierten Platz im Gesamtranking. Dennoch bleibt der Garmisch-Partenkirchener auf Schlagdistanz zum Führungs-Duo Nico Parlier und Axel Mazzella aus Frankreich.

„Es waren unglaubliche Bedingungen, ohne das Seegras, das sich im Foil verfängt und uns abbremst, wären wir noch schneller gewesen. Das Niveau im Starterfeld ist unglaublich hoch, jeder Fehler wird sofort bestraft. Ich fühle mich gut und liege noch aussichtsreich im Wettkampf. Bis zum Finale am Mittwoch haben wir noch sechs Rennen, da kann viel passieren“, gab sich der 23-jährige Bayer optimistisch.

Sieben Wettfahrten können bis Mittwoch noch absolviert werden und wir sind gespannt, ob sich der 23-jährige Deutsche nochmal gegen die Franzosen durchsetzen kann.